Shaping Tomorrow's Built Environment Today

IAQ 2020: Indoor Environmental Quality Performance Approaches

Transitioning from IAQ to IEQ

Share This


IAQ 2020: Indoor Environmental Quality Performance Approaches

Transitioning from IAQ to IEQ

September 14-16, 2020 | Athens, Greece 


The conference organized by ASHRAE and AIVC will take place September 14-16. 2020 in Athens, Greece. Indoor Air Quality (IAQ) has been the core of ASHRAE’S IAQ series of conferences for the past 30 years.  This conference will expand from Indoor Air Quality to Indoor Environmental Quality (IEQ).  IEQ includes air quality, thermal comfort, acoustics, and illumination and their interactions.  The particular focus of this conference is on performance approaches including the metrics, systems, sensors and norms necessary to implement them:


  • Health and Well-being: Appropriate technical and operational definitions
  • Performance Metrics: For all aspects of IEQ
  • Interactions: Interactions between IEQ parameters
  • Occupant Behavior: How behavior impacts IEQ and how IEQ impacts behavior - psychological dimensions of IEQ
  • Smart Sensors and Big Data: Sensor properties, data management, cybersecurity, applications
  • Smart Controls: Equipment properties, commissioning, equivalence
  • Resilience and IEQ: Responding to climate change and disasters
  • Ventilation: Mechanical, passive, natural and hybrid systems
  • Air Tightness: Trends, methods and impacts
  • Thermal Comfort: Dynamic approaches, health impacts and trends
  • Policy and Standards: Trends, impacts, implications

Call for Papers

Interested authors are invited to submit abstract on the topics related to, but not limited to, the topics mentioned above not later than October 7, 2019. The abstract should submitted along with the title of the paper, five (5) keywords, authors’ names and affiliations, and an indication of the corresponding author.

Authors will be notified of the Steering Committee's decision regarding abstracts by November 8, 2019.  Full papers are to be submitted, based on the guidelines for preparing the manuscripts, only after the acceptance of abstracts. The complete text of the paper should be submitted by February 17, 2020. The Scientific Committee of the conference will peer review the papers. Papers that may require revisions should be re-submitted through April 2020.

Why Publish With ASHRAE?

ASHRAE authors enjoy benefits that include:

  • No publication charges
  • Interaction with other researchers
  • Papers will be submitted papers to the following Citation, Indexing and Abstracting Services for evaluation  (Acceptance is not a guarantee)
    • Clarivate Analytics Web of Science’s Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI)
    • Elsevier's Scopus and Compendex
    • Elsevier's Ei Engineering Village’s Ei Compendex and Engineering Index
    • ProQuest Technology Research Databases: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Materials Research Database with METADEX, Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Engineering Research Database, Cambridge Scientific Abstracts High Technology Research Database with Aerospace and ProQuest Central


  • Submission of abstract, October 7, 2019
  • Notification of decision on abstract, November 8, 2019
  • Submission of complete manuscript, February 17, 2020
  • Final acceptance, April 2020

To submit an abstract:

Submit Abstract

For more information, contact


Registration is not yet open. Once open, a link will be available here

Steering Committee

Max Sherman (Co-chair)
Bill Bahnfleth (Co-chair)
Don Weekes (IEG-GA)
Peter Wouters (AIVC)
Dimitris Charalambopoulos (ASHRAE Hellenic Chapter)
Chandra Sekhar (DAL)
Katherine Hammack (DAL)
Bjarne Olesen
Charlene Bayer
Marwa Zaatari
Shelly Miller